1. Home
  2. Trending

Harsha Bhogle Reacts After Sarfaraz Khan Was Ignored For IND vs AUS Tests


Sarfaraz Khan has failed to find a spot for himself in the Indian squad announced by the BCCI for the first two Tests against Australia on Friday. The BCCI announced the squads for the T20I and ODI series against New Zealand, as well as the first two Tests against Australia. While Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav have received their maiden call-up for the Test series, on the other hand, talented cricketer Sarfaraz, who has been making a lot of noise with his consistent performances in the domestic circuit, has been ignored from the Indian squad. 

In fact, the development came even as Sarfaraz averages an impressive 80.47 in first-class cricket. He has scored 3380 runs in 36 FC games, including 12 centuries and nine half-centuries. In the ongoing Ranji Trophy, Sarfaraz has impressed one and all with his amazing performances, scoring 431 runs in five games for Mumbai, including two centuries and a fifty. He had previously amassed 982 runs in six games last season at an average of 122.75, including four tons.

Suryakumar Yadav's advice to Sarfaraz Khan drives him to another Ranji  century | Sports News,The Indian Express

Considering that the 25-year-old is in such fine form, social media was flooded with reactions from the fans, who questioned why he was ignored and white-ball specialists like Surya and Ishan were considered over him. Among many, popular commentator and cricket analyst Harsha Bhogle also took to his social media and expressed his disappointment on Sarfaraz not getting an opportunity. He wrote:

"Very hard on Sarfaraz Khan who has literally broken the door down in first class cricket. You can't do more than he has."

Check out his Tweet:

Harsha Bhogle
Image Source - Twitter

India’s squad for first 2 Tests vs Australia:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, C Pujara, V Kohli, S Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

India’s squad for NZ ODIs: 

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik

India’s squad for NZ T20Is: 

Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar

𝗡𝗢𝗧𝗘: KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for the New Zealand Home series due to family commitments.