1. Home
  2. Trending

IND vs SL: BCCI Reveals Why Yuzvendra Chahal Was Dropped

IND vs SL: BCCI Reveals Why Yuzvendra Chahal Was Dropped

Yuzvendra Chahal missed out from the 2nd ODI against Sri Lanka due to a “sore shoulder”, the BCCI said in their tweet soon after the toss took place at the Eden Gardens, in Kolkata, where the two teams met for the second ODI of this 3-ODI rubber, which India lead 1-0 following their 67-run victory in Guwahati two days ago.

I Never Asked Anyone Why: Yuzvendra Chahal Opened Up On 2021 T20 World Cup  Exclusion

At the toss, skipper Rohit Sharma reasoned that Chahal wasn’t fit for today’s game because of putting a dive in the first ODI.

“One enforced change for us, Chahal in the last game put in a dive and hasn’t recovered well today, so Kuldeep Yadav comes in,” Rohit said at the toss.

“Note - Yuzvendra Chahal was unavailable for selection in the 2nd ODI due to a sore right shoulder,” the BCCI tweeted.

In the first ODI, Yuzvendra Chahal conceded 58 runs in his 10 overs with a solitary wicket of Hasaranga. He’s going through a lean patch in India colors. In the T20Is before this ODI series, Chahal had a couple of ordinary outings where he was taken to the cleaners before returning with 2/30 in the third T20I. Chahal had been kept on the bench throughout the T20 World Cup in Australia with India preferring Axar and Ashwin for adding batting depth too.

This proved to be a big missed game for Chahal, as Kuldeep Yadav has grabbed onto his opportunity very well today.

Kuldeep Yadav put on a match-winning display in Kolkata by returning with figures of 3/51 in 10 overs, taking three big scalps of Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, and the Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka, helping India bowl the visitors out for a paltry 215.


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Nuwanidu Fernando, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis(w), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, Mohammed Siraj