There is never a dull moment when R Ashwin is there on the field. The legendary cricketer always gets involved in some drama, but he isn’t someone who makes mistakes with the rules. Currently playing in the ongoing 1st test match against New Zealand in Kanpur, R Ashwin has once again managed to grab all the eyeballs after he was seen indulging in an argument with on-field umpire Nitin Menon.
Well, the incident took place after Ashwin adopted a new bowling run-up. Ashwin opted to bowl with a diagonal run-up in the over. Nitin Menon, who has often struggled to get the LBW and caught-behind decisions right in Kanpur, was not happy with the bowling action of Ashwin.
The off-spinner was finishing his bowling action, in the 73rd over, and was somewhat in front of the umpire and it means that he could be blinded a bit. Ashwin’s bowling action not just blinded the umpire’s vision but also disturbed the non-striker, Tom Latham.
The umpire was seen having a word with Ashwin regarding the bowling action and the conversation between the two was caught on the stump-mic, which is now going viral on the internet and it is hilarious.
Ashwin plays with opponents and match officials at the same time.
— Silly Point (@FarziCricketer) November 27, 2021
The heated exchange between Ashwin and Nitin Menon was heard by several fans and experts on social media, who uploaded it on Twitter. Nitin Menon was apparently heard saying: “You are obstructing my vision.”
Rahane replied: “He’s not running on to the danger area (of the pitch).”
The umpire then said: “I can’t make the lbw calls.”
To this Ashwin gave a cheeky reply: “You are anyway not making any.”
He added: “That it is fine if you aren’t able to give a verdict, I will use DRS because this angle is helping me bowl better. It’s your problem, and not my problem.”
Umpire: "You are obstructing my vision"
Rahane: "He's not running on to the danger area."
Umpire: "I can't make the LBW calls."
Ashwin: "You are anyways not making any" 😋😂
— 🏏FlashScore Cricket Commentators (@FlashCric) November 27, 2021
The on-air commentators also reported that the Indian head coach Rahul Dravid had met the match referee about the same. Though, the conversation remained undisclosed by R Ashwin eventually dropped his diagonal run-up in the next over.