Explained: The Story Behind Rohit Sharma’s Jersey Number “45”

  1. Home
  2. Trending

Explained: The Story Behind Rohit Sharma’s Jersey Number “45”

Rohit Sharma

Indian captain Rohit Sharma is hailed as one of the finest batters in the world right now. Ever since he made his debut for the Indian cricket team, Rohit has been donning 45 as his jersey number. 

 Rohit Sharma made his debut for the Indian cricket team in the year 2007 and he had to struggle a lot to find a spot in the playing XI, initially, however, after 2013 he became a regular member of the Indian line-up. His career changed completely after MS Dhoni promoted him as the opener and he went on to make the opening spot his own in the limited format of the game. 

 Though, he has gone through many ups and downs in his cricketing career, the current Indian captain has always had one stable thing in his international career and that is his jersey number. 

Rohit Sharma
GQ India


In an interview last year, Rohit revealed the reason behind his jersey number. Speaking to the ICC in a special video, Rohit opened up about his jersey number and also regarding game maturity. Crediting his jersey number to his mother, he said:


 "Why I am 45? It's just my mother likes the number. Lot of numbers were taken so I asked my mother, what number I should take? So, she said 45 will be a good number for you."

Meanwhile, on Sunday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) unveiled the new T20 jersey for the Indian men's and women's cricket teams. The BCCI via their official social media account shared the picture of India's new jersey. Sharing the picture, the BCCI wrote:

"To every cricket fan out there, this one’s for you. Presenting the all new T20 Jersey - One Blue Jersey by @mpl_sport. #HarFanKiJersey #TeamIndia #MPLSports #CricketFandom"

Check out the Tweet:

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players - Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar