3 Indian Players Who Can Captain In T20Is If Rohit Sharma Steps Down

India crashed out in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup 2022 as England openers Jos Buttler and Alex Hales walloped 170 unbeaten runs in 16 overs to record one of the most dominating wins in T20 WC knockouts, sending India packing home. Here are the 3 leading candidates who could replace Rohit Sharma as India’s new T20I skipper:

KL Rahul

Because of being India’s designated vice-captain, KL Rahul is currently the incumbent to take over the captaincy job whenever Rohit Sharma steps down or is sacked. However, KL Rahul’s captaincy hasn’t got many fans. He led Punjab Kings in two seasons without a top-four finish. In a new franchise, Rahul captained Lucknow Super Giants to the playoffs but were knocked out in the Eliminator. His India captaincy stint also hasn’t been much successful: under KL Rahul’s captaincy, India lost the Johannesburg Test before being white-washed 3-0 in ODIs in South Africa. Further, Rahul is believed to be timid as a T20 batter and captain; he has lacked the fearlessness and instincts to take bold, risky decisions as the likes of Rohit Sharma or Hardik Pandya.

Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya is currently the fan-favorite for India’s captaincy job. Even several former cricketers believe that Pandya should be the next T20I skipper after Sharma, having seen Pandya’s maturity and success, and calmness in making decisions amid pressure situations during his captaincy stint while leading Gujarat Titans to the IPL 2022 trophy while captaining for the first time in the IPL.Hardik is a sure starter in India’s XI and since he doesn’t play Tests anymore, he will be available for the T20Is as India builds toward the 2024 T20 WC.

Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant has recently been added into India’s leadership group. And he led the side to a 2-2 T20I series draw against South Africa at home in the absence of Sharma and Rahul. Pant is named as the vice-captain for the New Zealand tour. The wicket-keeper has led the Delhi Capitals well in the last two IPL seasons; last year, DC reached the playoffs and had a top-two finish, but failed to reach the final, and this year they were one victory away from a top-four finish.