10 Best Tweets After Rohit Sharma Was Named Team India’s New ODI Captain

Last updated:

India’s star opener and newly-appointed T20I skipper Rohit Sharma has been announced as the new captain of Team India in the ODI format. Rohit Sharma will take over the captaincy responsibilities from Virat Kohli.

On Wednesday, the All-India Senior Selection Committee announced Rohit Sharma as the new captain of Team India in ODIs. It was just a couple of weeks ago when Rohit was named as the T20I skipper of India, replacing Virat Kohli.

I’ve been immensely proud of how the team has played. Now I think it’s time for the next lot to take this team forward. Obviously Rohit is here and he’s overlooking (sic) (overseeing) things for a while now,” Kohli had said earlier when Rohit was named the T20I captain.

“It’s been an honour for me, I was given the opportunity and I tried to do my best. But it’s also time to create some space and move forward.”

Announcing the big decision, the BCCI shared an update via their official Twitter handle, they wrote: “The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI & T20I teams going forward.”

Here, check out the Tweet:

Rohit Sharma made a blockbuster start to his captaincy stint as he won all three matches against New Zealand since taking over the captaincy role.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday also announced a squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa. Rohit Sharma has also been promoted as the vice-captain of the Indian Test team, replacing the out-of-form Ajinkya Rahane.

The Indian side led by Virat Kohli will begin the upcoming tour with h the Boxing Day Test, on December 26, against the Proteas that will be played in Centurion. The second Test match will kickstart on January 3 in Johannesburg while the third game of the 3-match series will commence from January 11 in Cape Town. The Test series against the Proteas will be followed by a 3-match ODI series.

Here’s the Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Meanwhile, the fans on social media were thrilled with the news of Rohit taking over the captaincy stint and they came up with amazing reactions to it.

Here, check out the reactions of Twitterati on this:

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Showered Praises On Virat Kohli