10 Hilarious Memes On Ajinkya Rahane’s Inclusion In Playing XI

Last updated:

Hoping to win the maiden away series against South Africa, the Virat Kohli led Indian cricket team decided to back their senior batsman Ajinkya Rahane ahead of Shreyas Iyer and Hanuma Vihari. This is a crucial series for both teams as it will impact the points on both sides that they need for the World Test Championship (WTC).

Rahane’s selection in the playing XI has come as a big surprise as the experienced batter has been going through a lean patch with the bat ever since he scored a match-winning hundred against Australia in last year’s Boxing Day Test. On the other hand, Shreyas Iyer impressed one and all with his solid debut against New Zealand in the Kanpur Test.

Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane: Contrasting captains, effective results |  Cricket News - Times of India

We will bat first. Runs on the board playing away home has been our strength. The pitch tends to quicken up here on Day 2-3,” Kohli told broadcasters after winning the toss.

“Our success away from home started from the series we played here last time. Very challenging place to play. South African unit is always strong and they know the conditions.

“The prep has been wonderful. Quite lucky to get the centre-wicket for practice. We are playing four bowlers and an all-rounder; Siraj, Shami, Bumrah, Ashwin and Thakur is the all-rounder,” Kohli added.

Virat Kohli’s decision to bat first in the match was bold anyway, and with this, him backing Ajinkya Rahane, who hasn’t been able to perform up to the expectations, has disappointed the fans. Both the senior batsmen Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara were backed picked for the first game against South Africa, but there was no place for the in-form batsmen Shreyas Iyer or Hanuman Vihari.

Meanwhile, fans on social media were left disappointed with the inclusion of Ajinkya Rahane in the playing XI of the Indian side. From experts to fans, everyone took to Twitter and came up with mixed reactions to it.

Here, check out the reactions of Twitterati on this:


India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

South Africa (Playing XI): Dean Elgar(c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock(w), Wiaan Mulder, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

Also Read: 10 Tweets That Prove Fans Are Very Angry With Shreyas Iyer’s Exclusion