A T20I Record That Puts Rohit Sharma In The Best Captain Category

Last updated:

India’s new limited-overs skipper, Rohit Sharma, is getting in record books with every victory. Till now, under Sharma’s full-time captaincy India haven’t lost a single game – 3-0 vs New Zealand in T20I series, 3-0 clean sweeps of West Indies in ODI and T20I followed by a 2-0 series lead against Sri Lanka with one game to go – although all of these wins came at home.

Rohit Sharma now has created another new record, and it is just the start of his full-time rein. Sharma now holds the record for most T20I wins at home as a captain; under Rohit Sharma, India have played 17 home T20Is so far, and won 16 of those – which is most for a captain at home – and that is a record 94 percent wins!

The next best on the list is Eoin Morgan, who has led England to 15 home T20I wins in 25 matches (60 percent); Kane Williamson, the New Zealand skipper, has also captained the Kiwis to 15 home T20I victories in 30 matches (50 percent).

A T20I Record That Puts Rohit Sharma In The Best Captain Category

Aaron Finch, the current Aussie skipper, and Virat Kohli, the former India captain, have recorded 15 home T20I wins as captains in 25 and 23 matches respectively. MS Dhoni, the iconic India captain who delivered three ICC titles, has won 10 of the 20 home T20Is he captained India.

Meanwhile, India have roped in another win, smashing down neighbours Sri Lanka first in Lucknow and then in Dharamsala. While in the first T20I, India put 199 on the board batting first and defeated the visitors by 62 runs, in the second game, the hosts chased down the target of 184 with ease, 7 wickets and 17 balls to spare.

The third T20I will be played on Sunday at the same venue, Dharamsala, before the action moves to Mohali followed by Bengaluru for 2 Tests. Rohit Sharma would want to keep his dream run going and win more matches for India with his leadership and bat.

Indian cricket team fans would be hoping that Rohit Sharma goes on to break every captaincy record, not just in T20I cricket, but all three formats of the game.