Aakash Chopra Posted A Heartfelt Tweet For Yuzvendra Chahal

Last updated:

Indian bowler Yuzvendra Chahal’s exclusion from the Indian squad for the much-awaited T20 World Cup 2021 has raised a lot of eyebrows. Former Indian cricketer turned commentator and cricket analyst, Aakash Chopra was also left amazed with Chahal’s exclusion from the Indian squad.

On September 08, 2021, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-man Indian main squad and three reserve players for the T20 World Cup 2021, which will kickstart in October in the UAE.

Aakash Chopra Posted A Heartfelt Tweet For Yuzvendra Chahal

The BCCI had made some surprising moves while picking their squad for the T20 WC 2021. While Ravi Ashwin made a return to the T20 squad, MS Dhoni was included as the mentor of the team. However, another thing that left everyone surprised was the absence of Indian bowler Yuzvendra Chahal.

Yes, Yuzvendra Chahal, who was a part of the Indian team that went to Sri Lanka in July, failed to find a spot in the 15-man squad announced by the BCCI. He was sidelined as the name of Rahul Chahal was announced in the team’s spin unit.

Later, revealing the reason behind Chahal’s exclusion from the squad, Team India chief selector Chetan Sharma explained: “We have picked Rahul Chahar over Yuzi as we wanted someone who bowls fast and gets pace off the pitch. He also gets the ball to grip through the surface,”

Meanwhile, Aakash Chopra took to Twitter and expressed his amazement after Chahal’s exclusion from the squad. In his Tweet, Chopra wrote how it is difficult for him to sink the fact that India has picked 5 spinners and Chahal, who is the second-best T20 bowler, isn’t in the team. He wrote:

Yuzi Chahal has been India’s best T20 spinner for the last few years. And he’s the second best T20 spinner in the world after Rashid Khan. India picks 5 spinners and he isn’t one of them. Let that sink in. #IndianCricketTeam”

Here, check out the Tweet:

Here is the full India squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.