Cricket Fraternity Erupts After Australia Wins Their Maiden T20 World Cup Trophy

Last updated:

The champions are back! Team Australia finally got their hands on their first-ever T20 World Cup trophy as they defeated Kane Williamson-led New Zealand in the final clash by 8 wickets. Kudos to the Australian cricket team and the duo of Aaron Finch and Justin Langer for bringing the glory days back for the Australian side.

The Australians have been champions in the 50-over format for multiple occasions, however, they were eluded from the T20 World Cup trophy ever since its inception. In fact, in the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup, no one gave Australia a chance. Australia’s perennial issues against spinners was one of the main reasons why they were nowhere close to the favorites tag.

However, known for their ‘Never Say Die‘ attitude, the Aussies proved everyone wrong as they gave back-to-back amazing performances to get their hands on their maiden World Cup win.

Talking about the final clash, chasing a target of 173 runs in the final clash, the Australian side was under a lot of pressure. As a result, the Australian side lost their skipper cheaply. Aaron Finch was dismissed early from the scene and the Kiwis had tasted the blood.

But what followed next was a stunning counter-attacking stand worth 92 runs off 59 balls. David Warner stole the show with the bat once again as he extended his newly-found form. Warner played a stunning knock of 53 runs off 38 balls. Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell took their side home with a stunning partnership. While Marsh scored a match-winning 77 runs and remained unbeaten till the last ball. The winning shot came off Glenn Maxwell’s bat, who scored 28 runs off 18 balls

Meanwhile, as soon as the Australian cricket team scored the winning runs, social media was flooded with congratulatory messages for the Aussies. From legendary cricketers, experts to fans, everyone took to Twitter to applaud the world champions for their terrific performance.

Here, check out the reactions of cricketers and experts on Australia’s win: