Explained: Here’s How India Can Qualify For The World Test Championship Final After Pakistan’s Elimination

Last updated:

Pakistan cricket team has been more less eliminated from the race to reach the big final following their defeat to England in the second Test match at the Multan Cricket Ground. The Ben Stokes-led England cricket team created History by taking an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match Test series after a 26-run victory. 

With this defeat, Pakistan, who had a chance to reach their first-ever World Test Championship final, lost out on the race. However, with this defeat, the Indian cricket team has been given a major boost in their hopes of reaching the final of the World Test Championship final 2021-2023. Yes, Pakistan’s defeat in Multan means that it will only be a 4-way race to the final of the WTC with Australia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and India in the fray.

ODI captain Rohit Sharma opens up on prospects of leading Team India in  Tests after Virat Kohli | Cricket - Hindustan Times

WTC 2021-23 TABLE (Top 6, As on December 12)

TEAM PCT Points Won Lost Drawn
Australia 75 108 8 1 3
South Africa 60 72 6 4 0
Sri Lanka 53.33 64 5 4 1
India 52.08 75 6 4 2
England 44.44 112 9 8 4
Pakistan 42.42 56 4 5 2

Better things about to follow, says Rohit Sharma - Telegraph India

Here’s what India needs to do in order to qualify for the World Test Championship Final 2022-2023:

India’s chances of making it to the WTC Final were hurt with their defeat to South Africa and England last year. India suffered a series defeat against South Africa by 2-1, following which, they had an opportunity to defeat England by 3-1, later they lost the Test match in Southampton. 

The Indian cricket team is all set to lock horns against Bangladesh in the upcoming 2 match Test series and 2-0 result will help the Indian side a big time. However, it isn’t going to be a cakewalk for team India as they just lost ODI series by 2-1. 

The Men in Blue will have to win 5 of their remaining 6 Tests to stand a chance of reaching the final. They will end their WTC cycle by competing host in a 4-match Test series next year.

Remaining series of India’s WTC cycle:

2 matches against Bangladesh in Bangladesh in December 2022

4 matches against Australia at home in February-March 2022