Fans Erupt In Joy After BCCI Announced MS Dhoni As India’s Mentor For T20 WC 2021

Last updated:

MS Dhoni is back!: The Indian cricket fans were left stunned after the Indian board announced their 15-member squad for the much-awaited T20 World Cup. On Wednesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India finally announced the 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup, which will kickstart from October 17 in the UAE and Oman.


Apart from the 15-member India squad for the T20 World Cup, it was the appointment of MS Dhoni as a mentor for Team India that took everyone by surprise. Yes, you read that right. The BCCI has appointed former Indian Cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni as a mentor for the team.

MS Dhoni is hailed as the most successful skippers in the history of the Indian cricket team, having won all the ICC trophies and major tournaments. He had announced his retirement from the game last year on 15th August. The skipper will make a comeback for the Indian cricket team but in a totally different avatar and fans are as excited as they could get.

In a press conference, BCCI secretary Jay Shah said: “Former India Captain M S Dhoni to mentor the team for the T20 World Cup,”

He added:

“(I) spoke to him in Dubai. He agreed to be mentor for WT20 only and I discussed with my colleagues and all are on same page. I spoke to captain (Virat Kohli) and vice captain (Rohit Shamra) and everyone agreed,”

Meanwhile, as soon as this great news came out, people on social media went berserk and flooded it with their amazing reactions to it. From cricketers to his millions of fans, everyone took to Twitter to celebrate the biggest news of the year. There were many who came up with amazing tributes to the legendary skipper, while others came up with hilarious memes while celebrating the news.

Here, check out the reactions of Twitterati on this great news:

Here is the full India squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.