Fastest Indian Batsmen to Score 10 Test centuries; Virat Kohli becomes the second fastest

Last updated:

India’s newly-appointed Test captain, Virat Kohli, became the second fastest Indian to score 10 Test centuries. Kohli achieved this milestone in 58 innings, whereas his Delhi teammate Virender Sehwag, who reached 10 Test centuries in 55 innings, 3 innings less than Virat Kohli.

This is a very big achievement as he has surpassed many Indian greats in this list. Virat Kohli’s achievement is more special because most of his Test hundreds have come outside the sub-continent.

Here is the list of fastest Indian batsmen to reach 10 Test centuries:

  Matches Innings
Virender Sehwag 34 55
Virat Kohli 33 58
Mohammad Azharuddin 39 58
Sachin Tendulkar 41 59
Sunil Gavaskar 32 61
Polly Umrigar 50 78
Mohinder Amarnath 54 91
Rahul Dravid 56 96
Gundappa Viswanath 58 103
Ravi Shastri 72 109
Sourav Ganguly 68 113
VVS Laxman 76 121
Dilip Vengsarkar 83 135

As we can see, this list comprises of India’s greatest Test batsmen, and to top at the top of this tree, is a very big achievement for Virat Kohli.

In the fourth and final Test of ongoing series between India and Australia, Kohli also became the first to score three consecutive centuries in his first three innings as captain. This is again a big achievement for Kohli, who has been given the responsibility of changing the Test scenario of Indian cricket.

In the first innings of the fourth Test, Kohli batted brilliantly and scored 147 runs to avoid the follow-on. He, along with KL Rahul, steadied India’s ship and avoided the follow-on situation.


By The Cricket Lounge