Herschelle Gibbs Paid A Big Price For Playing The “Kashmir Premier League”

Last updated:

Herschelle Gibbs, the former South Africa opener, has been replaced by Australia’s Shane Watson in the World Giant team for the upcoming Legends League Cricket 2022 edition.

Former India captain and current BCCI president, Sourav Ganguly, will lead the India Maharajas in an exhibition match against a World Giants team, to be led by former England skipper Eoin Morgan, on September 16. This match, which will be held at the Eden Gardens, is part of the LLC tournament, which is a private competition organised by Absolute Legends Sports.

Herschelle Gibbs Paid A Big Price For Playing The “Kashmir Premier League”
Image Source – News Waali

Players from across 10 foreign countries will be participating in this match. With Morgan, in his World Giants team are former South Africa greats Jacques Kallis, Jonty Rhodes, Dale Steyn, Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya and Muthiah Muralidaran and Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson are the two Australians in the 17-member squad.

Coming to Herschelle Gibbs, when the squads were announced there was a furore among Indian fans seeing Gibbs’ name because the former opener had participated in the Kashmir Premier League earlier last year which was backed by the Pakistan government and endorsed by Shahid Afridi.

Seeing this, the LLC has removed Gibbs from the competition and added Shane Watson in the World Giants squad.

Here are some of the angry reactions of fans regarding Herschelle Gibbs:

This game on September 16 is the curtain-raiser for the LLC second season, which also commemorates India’s 75th year of independence.

“This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating the 75th year of our independence,” Ravi Shastri, the LLC commissioner, said in a statement.

“As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year’s league to the 75th year of Independence celebration,” the former India head coach added.

The Indian squad includes some big names such as Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan and Parthiv Patel

The first season of the LLC took place in January earlier this year in Oman, with three teams – Maharajas, Giants and Asia Lions – taking part. The Giants won the tournament defeating Lions in the final. The second season will feature 4 teams, and 15 matches in total.

Two of the squads have been named for LLC season 2:

India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Stuart Binny, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha (wk), Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma, Reetinder Singh Sodhi

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (capt), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior (wk), Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muthiah Muralidaran, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Denesh Ramdin (wk)

Also Read: Ricky Ponting Gives His Verdict On Mohammed Shami