ICC Have Announced T20I Team Of The Year And There’s No Indian In It

Last updated:

On Wednesday, the ICC announced their best men’s T20I team of the year 2021. This team “recognises 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball or their all-round exploits in a calendar year”.

However, a surprising factor was that there was not a single Indian player selected in ICC’s men’s T20I team for 2021. This would also have to do with the fact that India’s T20I eleven was largely unsettled last year, culminating in a disappointing T20 World Cup campaign in the UAE.

ICC also discarded David Warner, the Man of the Tournament at the T20 World Cup, and went with Jos Buttler and Mohammad Rizwan as the two openers. Rizwan had a record-breaking year, scoring 1326 runs in 29 matches at an average of 73.66 and a strike rate of 134.89 with the help of a century and 12 half-centuries while Jos Buttler tore apart attack at the start of the game and helped England take the upper hand. The Englishman scored 589 runs in 14 matches at 65.44 with one century.

Babar Azam has been named the captain of this particular eleven. The Pakistani skipper was the leading run-scorer of the T20 World Cup and overall aggregated 939 runs at an average of 37.56 with one century and nine half-centuries.

Two South Africans – Aiden Markram and David Miller – find a place in the T20I team of the year. After being given a middle-order role, Markram emerged as South Africa’s best T20I batter last year – with 570 runs at 43.84 with six half-centuries, striking at 148.82 – while Miller smashed 377 runs at a brisk pace of149.60.

Mitchell Marsh, promoted to number 3, was Man of the Match in the T20 World Cup final for his scintillating 50–ball 77* innings. Throughout the calendar year, he was Australia’s best batter in the shortest format and also chipped in with his handy medium pace.

Wanindu Hasaranga is the spin-bowling all-rounder who finished the T20 World Cup as the highest wicket-taker with 16 strikes. Overall, he picked up 36 wickets in 20 matches at 11.63, while also scoring 196 runs.

Hasaranga is joined by Tabraiz Shamsi as the other spinner in this eleven. The second-ranked T20I bowler scalped 36 wickets at an average of 13.36 and a miserly economy of 5.72.

The pace department comprises a deadly trio of Josh Hazlewood, Mustafizur Rahman, and  Shaheen Afridi. Hazlewood, considered a Test specialist, showcased his high-class in the shortest format last year picking up 23 wickets at an average of 16.34 and an economy of 6.87.

Mustafizur scalped 28 wickets in 20 matches and leaked runs at only 7 an over, while Shaheen Afridi snapped up 23 wickets in 21 matches at an average of 26.04 and an economy of 7.86. Afridi’s fearsome 3-wicket haul versus India in the T20 World Cup remains the highlight of his year gone by.

ICC Men’s T20I team of the year: 

Jos Buttler, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Aiden Markram, Mitchell Marsh, David Miller, Wanindu Hasaranga, Tabraiz Shamsi, Josh Hazlewood, Mustafizur Rahman, Shaheen Afridi

Also Read: 10 Best Reactions On Venkatesh Iyer’s ODI Debut