ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Team India’s Full Schedule Of Matches, Timings And Opponents

Last updated:

The Indian cricket team will begin the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 as one of the favorites. The Indian side will kick off the campaign under a new captain — Rohit Sharma — who had replaced Virat Kohli as team India’s captain. Team India faced an early exit in the last T20 World Cup which was held in the UAE. The Indian side had lost two consecutive matches early on in the tournament which eventually resulted in India’s early departure from  ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

While the countdown for the marquee event has already kickstarted, fans around the world are anxiously waiting for the World Cup to begin, with just 7 days left for the opening game between Sri Lanka and Namibia. The Indian cricket team will be playing its first match on 23rd October against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

IND vs WI: Ian Bishop Highlights the Template Team India Has Adopted in  T20Is Under Rohit Sharma

This year, the Indian side will be entering the World Cup 2022 without their white-ball cricketers in Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja – who have been ruled out of the tournament with injuries. However, team India still boasts of one of the most formidable batting line-ups with the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav in the top-4 and Hardik Pandya and Dinesh Karthik in the finishing roles.

Meanwhile, ahead of India’s opening game against Pakistan in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022, the Indians will play two warm-up matches against Australia and New Zealand at the Gaba. 

Here, we bring you a full schedule of Team India’s matches in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022. 

Date Match Time(IST) Venue
17 October, Monday Australia vs India 9:30 AM The Gabba, Brisbane
19 October, Wednesday India vs New Zealand 9:30 AM The Gabba, Brisbane
23 October, Sunday India vs Pakistan 7:00 pm Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
27 October, Thursday India vs Group A Runner-up 6:00 pm Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
30 October, Sunday India vs South Africa 7:00 pm Perth Stadium, Perth
2 November, Wednesday India vs Bangladesh 6:30 pm Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
6 November, Sunday India vs Group B Winner 7:00 pm Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby Players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.