IND vs NZ 2nd T20I Watch: Kuldeep Yadav Bowled Daryl Mitchell With A Dream Ball

Last updated:

After scoring a match-winning knock of 59*(30) in the first T20I against India, New Zealand batsman Daryl Mitchell managed only 8(13) in the second T20I as he was castled by a beautiful delivery from wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

The pitch in the second T20I on Sunday in Lucknow, was even more spin-friendlier than it was in Ranchi in the first T20I. It was evident from the fact that skipper Hardik Pandya gave the ball to off-spinner Washington Sundar in the second over of the match itself.

New Zealand managed 99/8 in their quota of 20 overs in Lucknow, and out of those 8 wickets, 5 wickets fell to the Indian spinners.

Kuldeep Yadav produced a dream delivery to flabbergast Daryl Mitchell

Daryl Mitchell was summoned to the crease as early as in the 7th over after the Kiwis had lost three wickets. He played out 4 dot balls before getting off the mark with a boundary off Kuldeep Yadav. However, in his next over, Kuldeep had his man as he bowled Daryl Mitchell with a terrific delivery that left the batsman stunned.

It was traditional loopy length delivery from Kuldeep that pitched outside Mitchell’s off-stump and the batsman rocked on the back foot in order to play it late and adjust to the turn. But the turn into the batsman seemed a bit too much for Mitchell to gauge as the ball went through the bat and pad gap and hit the off-stump leaving the batsman thinking of what he could have done better.

To be fair to Mitchell, that sort of delivery would have gotten even the best of the batters of spin out.

The BCCI uploaded the video of Kuldeep Yadav bowling Daryl Mitchell out. You can watch it here:


India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan(w), Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya(c), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner(c), Ish Sodhi, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner