India Shattered Pakistan’s Big World Record After Series Win Against Australia

Last updated:

After loss in the first T20I against Australia in Mohali by 4 wickets, the Indian team bounced back in the second T20I, in Nagpur, to level the series, setting up an exciting decider on Sunday in Hyderabad. With this win now, India have equalled a world record, held by Pakistan, for most wins in T20Is in a calendar year, and, on Sunday, will stand on the brink of history as to break this record.

After 2nd T20I Win India Equalled Pakistan’s Tally

With the victory in Nagpur, team India has now won 20 T20I matches this year, out of the 28 they have competed in so far. This is now the joint-most number of T20I wins in a year by a men’s side – they have equalled Pakistan’s tally of 20 wins (from 29 matches) from last year.

The game at the VCA Stadium was delayed by two hours due to wet outfield, and hence was curtailed to 8 overs per side. After electing to bowl first, Indian bowlers restricted Australia to 90 in 8 overs, which the hosts managed to chase down with 4 balls to spare. Axar Patel once again shined brightly with the ball, returning with figures of 2/13 in 2 overs, while Jasprit Bumrah, playing his first international match after two months, set the scene alight by yorking out Aaron Finch.

Skipper Rohit Sharma was named the Player of the Match for his 46* off 20 balls. With 9 runs needed in the last over, Dinesh Karthik smashed Daniel Sams for 6 and 4 to seal the game and level the series. 

Rohit Sharma-led Team India Is Under Scanner For Inconsistent Performances

India Broke Pakistan’s World Record After 3rd T20I Win:

The Indian cricket team defeated Australia in the third and final T20I to seal the 3-match T20I series with a win by 2-1. Virat and Surya stitched a match-altering 104-run partnership off 62 balls. While SKY played in his usual attacking mode and impressed one and all with his strokeplay, on the other hand, Virat played the role of an anchor as Surya smashed big hits for fun. 

All thanks to the stellar effort by Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav, the Indian side ended the series on a high note. With this win, the Indian cricket team shattered a big world record of Pakistan by registering 21 T20I wins in a calendar year. 

Most wins in a calendar year in men’s T20Is:
21* – India in 2022
20 – Pakistan in 2021