IPL 2016: Virat Kohli has gone past MS Dhoni’s T20 record

Last updated:

Virat Kohli is going through a purple patch in his career. He is arguably world’s best batsman, across all three formats. In the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2016), Virat Kohli has gone past MS Dhoni as the captain with most successive appearances for his team in a Twenty20 match. Kohli has now led his IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 63 successive matches. Only Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) skipper Gautam Gambhir is ahead of Virat Kohli, with 87* matches.

Interestingly, MS Dhoni appears twice in this list and he is the only captain to appear twice in this list.

Below is a list of most successive matches a captain has led his team in:

Captain Team M From Until
Gautam Gambhir Kolkata Knight Riders 87* 25-Sep-11 14-May-16
Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 63* 06-May-12 14-May-16
MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 61* 06-Apr-13 24-May-15
MS Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 59 25-Mar-10 20-Oct-12
Daryl Mitchell Worcestershire 58* 03-Jun-11 14-Aug-15
William Porterfield Ireland 45 09-Feb-10 21-Mar-14
Shane Warne Rajasthan Royals 43 30-May-08 20-May-11
Chris Adams Sussex 42 13-Jun-03 24-Jun-08
Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers 42 06-May-08 24-Apr-10
Rahul Dravid Rajasthan Royals 40 Apr-12 06-Oct-13

*Chennai Super Kings will return to IPL after serving a 2 year ban. If MS Dhoni continues as their captain, he will have a chance to extend his run.