List Of All The 10 Captains In IPL 2023

Earlier in February, the BCCI announced the schedule for the IPL 2023, which will be the 16th edition of the tournament. Hardik Pandya’s defending champions Gujarat Titans will host MS Dhoni’s blockbuster Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad in the tournament opener on March 31.

The final will also be played in Ahmedabad, on May 28.

The IPL returns to its traditional home-and-away format in India for the first time since 2019.

The teams are divided into two groups: Group A has MI, KKR, RR, DC, and LSG, while Group B has CSK, RCB, GT, PBKS, and SRH. Each team will play the five teams of the other group twice and the other four from their own group once, making it 14 league games per team.

Here is the list of captains of all 10 teams in IPL 2023:

Chennai Super Kings – MS Dhoni

The IPL 2023 is probably going to be the last seas of MS Dhoni as a player. The Ranchi-born has led CSK to 4 IPL titles and will like to bow out with another trophy.

Mumbai Indians – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni
Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni. Image-Twitter

Rohit Sharma changed the history of Mumbai Indians when he became captain in 2013 and led the franchise to their maiden IPL title. Now, Sharma is the most successful captain and MI the most successful team in the IPL with 5 IPL trophies.

Rajasthan Royals – Sanju Samson

Sanju Samson captained RR to their only second IPL final, and first since 2008, in 2022 but lost to GT. Samson’s fan-following and craze is increasing day-by-day in the country and worldwide.

Gujarat Tians – Hardik Pandya

Captaining for the first time in his IPL career, Hardik Pandya was fantastic in the IPL 2022 as GT’s captain and all-rounder, leading the debuting franchise to the IPL trophy.

Delhi Capitas – David Warner

David Warner, IPL
David Warner

There is a forced change in DC’s captaincy in IPL 2023 after Rishabh Pant was ruled out due to knee and other injuries which he suffered in the car accident in December. David Warner, who led SRH to the IPL 2016 title, will be captaining DC this season.

Kolkata Knight Riders – Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer led DC and joined KKR last season and was named their skipper. KKR finished 7th in the points table in IPL 2022 under Iyer.

Lucknow Super Giants – KL Rahul

After leaving Punjab, KL Rahul joined was named the captain of LSG in their maiden season last year. Rahul marched Lucknow into the playoffs in IPL 2022 but lost to RCB in the Eliminator.

Royal Challengers Bangalore – Faf du Plessis

Faf will continue to lead RCB this year after being bought and put into the position last year. Du Plessis captained RCB into the playoffs, but they fell one step away from the final, losing in the Qualifier 2 to RR.

Punjab Kings – Shikhar Dhawan

PBKS released their last season’s captain Mayank Agarwal after IPL 2022 and have now put Dhawan at the helm ahead of IPL 2023. After continuous bottom-half-table finishes since 2015, Punjab would be hoping to reach the playoffs this year.

Sunrisers Hyderabad – Aiden Markram

Aiden Markram
Aiden Markram. Image-BCCI/IPL

SRH have appointed Aiden Markram as their new skipper after releasing Kane Williamson. SRH were 8th in IPL 2022 and Williamson also was disappointed with the bat. Markram recently led Sunrisers Eastern Cape, SRH’s sister franchise, to the title in the inaugural season in SA20