List Of Cricketers Who Have Won The World Cup But Never Lifted The Ranji Trophy

Last updated:

Ranji Trophy is probably the most significant tournament played inside India. Any cricketer who wants to make it to the Indian national cricket team has to give consistent brilliant performances in the Ranji Trophy. While some of the Indian cricketers have gone on to win the prestigious Ranji Trophy, there are a few who have not been able to win the trophy even once during their careers.

Here, in this article, we bring you a list of Indian cricketers who have won the World Cup but never lifted the Ranji Trophy. Have a look:

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni:

MS Dhoni is hailed as one of the greatest Indian captains. Dhoni achieved everything at the international level and is the only captain in the world to have won all the three ICC trophies – ICC T20 World Cup (2007), ICC ODI World Cup (2011), and ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. He has led India to numerous memorable wins. However, one feather is missing from his glorious cap and that is Ranji Trophy.

Yes, MS Dhoni, who led India to memorable World Cup wins in 2007 and 2011, hasn’t been able to win a trophy in Ranji Trophy. MSD made his Ranji Trophy debut for Bihar in 2000 in a match against Assam in Jamshedpur. Later, he turned to Jharkhand after a new team was formed in 2004. His team reached the semi-final in 2005 but Haryana went on to win via the first-innings lead. The Ranji Trophy’s title has remained elusive for the all-winning captain.

2. Yuvraj Singh:

List Of Cricketers Who Have Won The World Cup But Never Lifted The Ranji Trophy

Former Indian cricketer and World Cup hero, Yuvraj Singh needs no introduction. His heroics in World Cup 007 and World Cup 2011 are still afresh in everyone’s minds. He played an instrumental role in helping India win both the World Cup trophies, however, not many are aware of the fact that just like MS Dhoni, Yuvi has also failed to win the Ranji Trophy.

Yuvraj Singh, who had made his debut in 1997 for Punjab in a match against Orissa, went on to play many great knocks for Punjab, but his team couldn’t win the Ranji Trophy. In fact, it was his performances in the domestic circuit that earned him a national call-up in 2000 and the rest is history.

3. Harbhajan Singh:

List Of Cricketers Who Have Won The World Cup But Never Lifted The Ranji Trophy

Hailed as one of the most successful off-spinner in the world, Harbhajan Singh was an integral part of India’s 2011 World Cup-winning squad. Bhajji made his Ranji debut for Punjab in 1997 and has a career spanning almost two decades. Bhajji was Yuvraj Singh’s teammate in Punjab’s squad. It is surprising that a player of Bhajji’s stature has never won the coveted trophy.

Harbhajan Singh made it to the semi-finals of the Ranji Trophy with Punjab on four occasions, however, he failed to win the trophy.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya Likely To Get Captaincy Role In IPL 2022