List Of WTC’s Leading Run Scorer; Virat Kohli Not Even In Top 10

Last updated:

New Zealand cricket team became the World Test Champions after defeating the Virat Kohli led Indian Cricket Team by 8 wickets in the historic WTC Final in Southampton. The one-off finale marked the completion of a 2-year cycle of the inaugural WTC, which was launched in 2019 to create a pinnacle event for the longest format of the game.

We witnessed many memorable performances during the inaugural World Test Championship. And as the WTC came to an end on Wednesday, The magnificent performances of every individual made WTC a pulsating show. However, there were only a few who left a mark on their performances. While Marnus Labuschagne became the highest run-getter, on the other hand, India’s Ravichandran Ashwin became the highest wicket-taker in the WTC.

In this article, we will discuss the highest run-getters in the WTC, where Marnus Labuschagne has topped the list.

Highest run-getter: Marnus Labuschagne:

Marnus stole the show with his bat in the WTC. He was a competition for the leading batsmen around the world. With 1675 runs from 23 innings at an average of 72.82, Marnus has emerged out to be the highest run-getter in the WTC.

Here, check out the list of the top 10 run-getters of the WTC:

1. Marnus Labuschagne (Australia) – 1675 runs

2. Joe Root (England) – 1660 runs

3. Steve Smith (Australia) – 1341 runs

4. Ben Stokes (England) – 1334 runs

5. Ajinkya Rahane (India) – 1159 runs

6. Rohit Sharma (India) – 1094 runs

7. Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka) – 999 runs

8. Jos Buttler (England) – 963 runs

9. David Warner (Australia) – 948 runs

10. Dean Elgar (South Africa) – 935 runs

List Of WTC’s Leading Run Scorer; Virat Kohli Not Even In Top 10

Surprisingly, the Indian skipper has failed to find a spot in the top 10 list of the highest run-getters in the World Test Championship. He is sitting at the 11th position in this list of run-getters, with 934 runs in the 24 innings he played.