Shane Warne And Simon Doull Indulge In A Heated Debate Over Kohli’s Dismissal

Last updated:

Virat Kohli’s dismissal on Day 1 of the ongoing second Test match against New Zealand has become one of the most discussed moments from the ongoing series. It has stirred a debate across the social media platforms and the latest ones to join the debate are former Australian cricketer Shane Warne and New Zealand commentator Simon Doull.

Well, on Day 1 of the ongoing Mumbai Test match was dismissed for a four-ball duck. His dismissal took place in the 30th innings of the Indian innings when Kohli’s dismissal took place after being struck on the pads by Ajaz Patel. Virat went for a review, however, to his dismay the third umpire didn’t find enough evidence to overturn the call of the on-field duck. But the Indian skipper seemed to suggest that he had edged the ball.

Shane Warne And Simon Doull Indulge In A Heated Debate Over Kohli’s Dismissal

Ever since then several former cricketers and experts have come out with their judgment on the dismissal. While many felt that the third umpire made a goof-up, there were many who felt that was the right thing to do at that time, since there was no clear evidence.

Former Australian cricketer Shane Warne however remained critical of the decision taken by the third umpire. Shane Warne took to Twitter and stated how that interpreting technology correctly will assist in taking the right decisions in cricket. He wrote:

“This is simply – not out! We often discuss technology & its use/accuracy. The main [email protected] the interpretation of the technology. Here’s a perfect example of the ball clearly hitting the edge of the bat first,”

However, his tweet didn’t go down well with the New Zealand commentator Simon Doull, who was quick to reply to him. In his reply, Doull wrote how using images to suit the narrative shouldn’t be encouraged. He wrote:

“It’s a clear indication of find the pictures to suit your narrative is all that is. In the side view, the bat has not reached the ball by the time the ball reaches the pad so therefore it’s safe to say hitting the pad first as it’s directly in the same line did happen first. #simple,”

Here, check out the Tweet:

Simon Doull replied to another Twitter user, who claimed that the former New Zealand cricketer was replying to suit his narrative. The user wrote: “You are replying to suit your narrative!!”

Responding to the user, Simon Doull wrote: “I am replying to say the umpire had no choice but to uphold the on-field decision is all I am saying. No choice at all. The process was followed to the Law and the result remains.”

Here, check out the Tweet: