Strongest Gujarat Titans (GT) Playing XI After The IPL 2023 Auction

Last updated:

The defending champions Gujarat Titans had the IPL 2023 auction as they would have liked it to. They went in the IPL 2023 auction knowing all the holes and shortcomings in their squad, had the budget after releasing six players from last season, bought the players who they thought would fit their positions, and returned home happily.

Gujarat Titans Players bought in IPL 2023 auction: Shivam Mavi (6 cr), Joshua Little (4.40 cr), Kane Williamson (2 cr), Srikar Bharat (1.20 cr), Odean Smith (50 lakh), Mohit Sharma (50 lakh), Urvil Patel (20 lakh)

Having released Lockie Ferguson, Dominic Drakes, and Varun Aaron among pacers, GT bought young Indian pacer Shivam Mavi for 6 crore, their most expensive pick at the IPL 2023 auction. Odean Smith is the overseas all-rounder they have roped in while Josh Little is the overseas pacer.

The important, and a crucial, pick made by GT was Kane Williamson for his base price of 2 crore. They have bought in Williamson to settle their number 3/4 conundrum from last season where a number of players were rotated in this one spot, which also meant pushing Hardik Pandya up to number 3. With Williamson as the anchor/stabilizer, Pandya can bat at 4 and all others can be the aggressors.

Strongest Gujarat Titans (GT) Playing XI After The IPL 2023 Auction

Gujarat Titans best XI after IPL 2023 auction:

Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Kane Williamson, Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, R Sai Kishore, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami

This looks an even stronger GT XI with Williamson in it instead of Wade at that number 3 position. GT have backups for all the players, including Odean Smith as a backup for Pandya the all-rounder. They can even lengthen their batting by getting replacing either Manohar or Sudharsan with Sai Kishore.

Gujarat Titans Full squad:

  • Openers: Shubman Gill, Kane Williamson

  • Middle order: Abhinav Manohar, David Miller, B Sai Sudharsan

  • Wk: Matthew Wade, Wriddhiman Saha, KS Bharat, Urvil Patel

  • All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Darshan Nalkande, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Odean Smith

  • Spinners: Jayant Yadav, Noor Ahmed, R Sai Kishore

  • Fast bowlers: Pradeep Sangwan, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Shami, Yash Dayal, Shivam Mavi, Joshua Little, Mohit Sharma