Sunil Gavaskar Revealed His India’s Playing XI For WTC Final

Last updated:

Sunil Gavaskar Revealed His India’s Playing XI For WTC Final: The Indian cricket team is all set to lock horns with the  New Zealand cricket team in the much-awaited final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, scheduled to be played in Southampton from June 18 to 22. The mega clash has become one of the hottest topics of discussion in the cricket fraternity.

Recently, in an interview, former Indian skipper Sunil Gavaskar talked about the WTC Final. He also came up with his India’s playing XI for the mega-clash. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill were picked as the opening batsmen for team India, followed by Indian skipper Virat Kohli and his deputy Ajinkya Rahane at number 3 and 4 respectively. At number 5 Gavaskar picked India’s young and talented keeper-batsman Rishabh Pant.

He feels that the presence of Rishabh Pant in India’s Test side has given Virat a chance to play an extra bowling option. Sunil Gavaskar also showered praises on Rishabh Pant and said how one can expect game-changing knocks’ from Pant during the English summer. He said:

Rishabh Pant has now got even better in shot selection as we saw in Australia. His batting allows the team to go in with an extra spinner or pacer. Expect some game-changing innings from him in the summer,”

Gavaskar feels that India should go with both Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in the much-awaited ICC World Test Championship final, because of their bowling abilities but also for the batting depth the duo provides to the team. He said:

That (Ashwin and Jadeja together) also gives depth to the batting as well as give a fine balance to the bowling attack. For the series later (vs England) much will depend on the weather and pitch conditions.” Further, he picked Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami in India’s bowling attack.

Sunil Gavaskar’s India’s playing XI for WTC Final: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

Here, watch the video: