UAE’s ILT20 League: Teams, Signed Players And Schedule

Last updated:

UAE’s ILT20 League: Teams, Signed Players And Schedule: The International League T20 (ILT20) is the latest edition to the world of T20 franchise cricket as the game now has entered into, what many are calling a “tipping point” as you will see more and more players – after the big names Ben Stokes and Trent Boult – choosing formats of specialization or not taking contracts with the national boards in order to make the big bucks in such leagues.

The ILT20 league will be played in the UAE with its first edition slated for January-February 2023, clashing with South Africa’s T20 league. However, some of the marquee players in the world have chosen or been drafted in both leagues.

Since both UAE and South Africa’s league will clash, there will be no Protea players in the ILT20; there aren’t any Pakistani players as well for most of the teams are being owned by IPL team owners.

UAE’s ILT20 League: Teams, Signed Players And Schedule
Image Source – InsideSport

When will the ILT20 league be played?

This tournament was originally scheduled to take place during January and February 2022, but it was rescheduled to take place from January 2023, with six teams competing. In June 2022, the league was formally named the International League T20, and the wheels were put in motion to have a few IPL franchises own some of the teams.

Who are the owners in the UAE’s ILT20 league?

Three out of six teams have been sold to IPL owners – Reliance Industries Team – MI Emirates; Knight Riders Group, Team – Abu Dhabi Knight Riders; GMR Group, Team – Dubai Capitals.

The owners of the other three teams are – Capri Global, Lancer Capital, and Adani Sportsline.

How many overseas players can play in the eleven?

Since there aren’t many established UAE players, nine out of eleven players on each team can be overseas players, which is more than double what other leagues allow. Two players in each eleven must be a UAE player and one from the Associate nations.

What is the format of the ILT20 league?

The ILT20 will have 34 matches – all the teams will play each other twice, before four playoffs, including the final – and will be played in three venues: Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

Who are the players who have signed for ILT20 league?

Each squad will be of 18 players – in which the franchises are allowed to sign 12 internationals, two Associate nation players and four must-have UAE players.

A spate of superstar T20 players have already been registered by the franchises, of which MI Emirates have confirmed their 14 players.

14 players for MI Emirates in UAE’s ILT20 league: Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Nicholas Pooran (West Indies), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Andre Fletcher (West Indies), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Samit Patel (England), Will Smeed (England), Jordan Thompson (England), Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan), Zahir Khan (Afghanistan), Fazalhaq Farooqui (Afghanistan), Bradley Wheal (Scotland) and Bas De Leede (Netherlands).

Further, the likes of Andre Russell and Moeen Ali will be also seen in action in the UAE ILT20 League. The competition has roped in a series of recognized talents from around the world for its inaugural tournament.

Dawid Malan, Wanindu Hasiranga, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Fabien Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dushmantha Chameera, Shimron Hetmyer, Akeal Hosein, Chris Jordan, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chris Lynn, Rovman Powell, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Mujeeb Ul Rahman.

UAE's ILT20 League
Image Source – NDTV Sports

Other players on board are Lahiru Kumara, Seekugge Prassanna, Charith Asalanka, Colin Ingram, Paul Stirling, Kennar Lewis, Ali Khan, Brandon Glover, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Isuru Udana, Blessing Muzarabani, Niroshan Dickwella, Hazaratullah Zazai, Frederick Klassen, Sikandar Raja, George Munsey, Dan Lawrence, Dominic Drakes, Jamie Overton, Liam Dawson, David Wiese, Qais Ahmed, Richard Gleeson, James Vince, Noor Ahmed, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Navin Ul Haq, Sherfane Rutherford, Saqib Mahmood, Ben Duckett, Benny Howell and Ruben Trumpelman.

Also Read: South Africa’s T20 League: Teams, Signed Players And Schedule