Virat Kohli has made some very good DRS calls in the ongoing one-off Test match against Bangladesh. Kohli is a very proactive captain and he likes getting involved in every conversation that happens in the middle. Every time there is an appeal from the bowler or from anyone behind the stumps, Kohli quickly gets involved in the conversation. There have been times when Kohli has gone against his wicketkeeper and bowlers and wasted reviews but this hasn’t stopped him from making calls based on his own gut feeling.
In the 6th over of Day 4 of the ongoing Test, Ravichandran Ashwin decieved Bangladesh’s opener Tamim Iqbal and there was an immediate appeal of Leg Before Wicket (LBW) from Ashwin, Saha and other close-in fielders. But, Kohli felt that the ball hit Tamim Iqbal’s bat on the way and he appealed for a catch and not LBW. This was a little surprising as all the fielders and most importantly bowler and wicketkeeper were appealing for LBW. But Kohli, who took the catch at second slip, was adamant and he went ahead with his gut feeling.
The review was taken and the replay clearly showed that the ball had hit Tamim’s bat before hitting the pad and going into Virat Kohli’s hand at second slip, and he was given out caught by the third umpire. Watch it here: