“Virat Kohli Is Ruled Out Of Asia Cup” – Here’s The Real Story

Last updated:

The Indian cricket team will return to action as the Rohit Sharma-led Team India will kickstart their Asia Cup 2022 campaign with a high-voltage contest against Pakistan. Players including the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, etc, who were on a break while the young Indian side locked horns with West Indies and Zimbabwe, will make a return to the Indian side for the upcoming tournament.

The fans are waiting anxiously for the upcoming tournament to begin. However, they were left completely shocked when the news of Virat Kohli getting ruled out of the tournament went viral on the internet.

Virat Kohli
Image Source – Zee News

Virat Kohli, who has been going through a tough phase in his career, will be hoping to get back in his rhythm as Asia Cup 2022 begins. He is currently sweating it out ahead of the high-voltage clash between India and Pakistan.

Amidst all the preparations for the tournament, an update from the Sri Lankan commentator Roshan Abeysinghe about Virat Kohli left the fans stunned. Yes, you read that right. Popular commentator Roshan Abeysinghe, who is in the United Arab Emirates for the coverage of the upcoming Asia Cup 2022,  took to his social media and updated the fans that Virat has been ruled out of the tournament because of a wrist injury. He wrote:

“Virat Kohli has been ruled out of the Asia Cup squad due to a Wrist Injury. Shubman Gill will replace him in the Team India squad”

Check out the Tweet:

“Virat Kohli Is Ruled Out Of Asia Cup” – Here’s The Real Story

However, the fans can now take a sigh of relief as the air around Kohli’s injury has been cleared. The commentator Roshan Abeysinghe himself took to his social media and apologized for his tweet, which turned out to be false. He wrote:

Sorry Virat’s news is fake. Tweet has been deleted.”

Check out the Tweet:

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan Standbys: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.

Also Read: Salaries Of Captains In Asia Cup 2022