Watch: Queensland’s Georgia Voll Survives Despite Getting Clean Bowled

Last updated:

Queensland’s Georgia Voll Survives Despite Getting Clean Bowled: Umpiring is a serious job. An umpire has to examine every ball bowled and every shot played. But being human mistakes are bound to happen. However, some mistakes can prove costly to the team and players individually. The umpiring standards have come under the scanner off-lately.

Recently, during a recent game in the Women’s National Cricket League in Australia, and absolutely bizarre incident took place that left everyone stunned.

Well, the shocking incident took place during the 14th over of the first innings of the match between Queensland and Tasmania. Belinda Vakarewa, the Tasmanian pacer bowled a brilliant good-length delivery that went past the outside edge of Queensland batter Georgia Voll. However, there was a slight confusion in the middle when it was seen that the bails had been dislodged.

But surprisingly, no one from the fielding side including on-field umpires noticed that ball hit the stumps. Considering that no one appealed from the fielding side, the commentators assumed that the wickets were due to the wicketkeeper’s gloves.

Soon the mystery got clear when the replays were shown which left everyone baffled. The ball had clipped the bails which meant that Voll had actually been clean bowled but she survived because no one appealed and the game went on.

The video of the same has been making rounds on social media.

Here, watch the video:

However, Georgia Voll couldn’t make the most out of the second life she got as she had to go back to the pavilion. She could only add 5 more runs after the incident as she was dismissed on 31 by Sarah Coyte. Riding on the stunning performance of Nicola Carey didn’t coast Tasmanian Women Tigers smashed an unbeaten century to help her side chase the target in 45.1 overs.

Also Read: Sania Mirza Revealed Why Her Relationship With Yuvraj Singh Is Very Special