Here’s Why Jofra Archer Will Not Be A Part Of The T20 World Cup 2022

Last updated:

England’s talismanic fast bowler Jofra Archer, who played a key role for the England cricket team to help them win their first ever ODI World Cup in 2019, is now all set to miss his second T20 World Cup in a row. Jofra had not taken part in the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League due to an apparent elbow injury as England Cricket Board (ECB) wanted to protect him for the T20 World Cup 2021, which took place in the UAE last year. However, Jofra couldn’t recover in time for the tournament and England had to play the tournament without him. 

Following this, Jofra was expected to make a comeback in the English summer of 2022, but just before the test season of England was about to start, Jofra suffered another injury, and this time it was a back injury due to which he was ruled out of the entire Test season. He was ruled out of the season in May due to a back stress fracture and it was confirmed that he won’t be part of the ICC event. He also had to miss the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. 

Jofra Archer
Image Source – NTDV Sports

However, at that time it wasn’t confirmed that Jofra wouldn’t be able to take part in the T20 World Cup 2022 that would take place in Australia towards the end of the year. But Jofra Archer didn’t feature in the T20 World Cup squad that ECB announced recently. 

Jofra’s career has been a rollercoaster ride. While he has done some magical things for the England side and has got his name etched in the history books, however, his career has also been very brief because of the injuries. Archer is likely to be fit by IPL 2023 as Mumbai Indians bought him for Rs 8 crore in the IPL 2022 mega auction.

Jofra Archer
Image Source – Twitter

England squad for T20 World Cup: Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

England squad for Pakistan tour: Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood