World Cup 2015: A century of World Cup captains

Last updated:

Image Source

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 is all set to cross 100 captains mark. The eleventh edition of the most watched cricket tournament in the world will be played in Australia and New Zealand. A century of World Cup captains will be touched at the ICC cricket World Cup 2015. So far, 94 captains have led their teams in 352 World Cup matches from 1975 to 2011.

This number will be taken to 105 in the World Cup 2015, by 11 new captains; Afghanistan’s Mohammad Nabi, West Indies’ Jason Holder, Australia’s Michael Clarke, England’s Eoin Morgan, Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews, New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum, Pakistan’s Misbah-Ul-Haq, Scotland’s Preston Mommsen, South Africa’s A.B. de Villiers, UAE’s Mohammad Tauqir and Bangladesh’s Mashrafe Mortaza.

Usually, we talk about centuries scored by batsmen, but this will be a very special moment as it will mark the century of captains who have the honour of leading their teams in the most prestigious cricket tournament. It will be a special moment for all the lovers across the world, when a century of World Cup captains will be touched at the ICC World Cup 2015 to be played in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

India’s Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ireland’s William Porterfield and Zimbabwe’s Elton Chigumbura have been captains in previous World Cup competitions.

Eight captains have won the prestigious World Cup — West Indies’s Clive Lloyd (1975 and 1979, both at London), Australia’s Ricky Pointing (2003, Johannesburg and 2007. Bridgetown), India’s Kapil Dev (1975, London), Sri Lanka’s Arjuna Ranatunga (1996, Lahore), Australia’s Allan Border (1987, Calcutta), Australia’s Steve Waugh (1999, London), Pakistan’s Imran Khan (1992) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2011, Mumbai).


By The Cricket Lounge