World Cup 2015: Afghanistan announce 15-man squad

Last updated:



Afghanistan have confirmed their 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 that will take place in Australia and New Zealand in February and March.

This will Afghanistan’s maiden appearance in World Cup cricket. Afghanistan have a good fusion of senior players and raw talent, but they will continue to rely on the core of senior players – Samiullah Shenwari, Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai, Shapoor Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf and Hamid Hassan.

Mohammad Nabi has  been named the captain of the side for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.


Squad: Mohammad Nabi (capt), Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai, Samiullah Shenwari, Afsar Zazai (wk), Najibullah Zadran, Nasir Jamal, Mirwais Ashraf, Gulbadin Naib, Hamid Hassan, Shapoor Zadran, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Javed Ahmadi, Usman Ghani.

Standby: Shafiqullah (wk),Sharafuddin Ashraf,Izatullah Dawlatzai, Hashmatullah Shaidi.