World Cup 2015: No Place for Umar Gul and Kamran Akmal in Pakistan’s WC squad

Last updated:


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have announced their 15-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. While most of the names were expected, Umar Gul’s exclusion has shocked many Pakistani cricket fans. Umar Gul has been Pakistan leading fast bowler in international cricket for the last 4 years or so. Pakistan will enter the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand, with a good blend of youth and experience.

Misbah Ul Haq has been named the captain and Younis Khan has been included in the squad. There were speculations that Pakistan might include their out of favour wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal, but the selectors have done the right thing by picking their in form wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Pakistan is known for re-calling their experienced players for the big tournaments. But this time, they have shown faith in their youngsters and given them a chance to showcase their talent at the biggest stage.

Pakistan’s Squad For World Cup 2015:  Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz ahmed, Younis Khan, Harris Sohail, Misbah ul Haq, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz

More to follow…


By The Cricket Lounge