World Cup 2023: Which Country Has Won Most No. Of ODI World Cups?

Last updated:

FIVE! Australia have won 5 ODI World Cups till date. No other team has even won three. This shows the dominance of the Kangaroos in the ODI World Cups.

The fact that Australia have won 5 out of the 12 editions of the ODI World Cups is telling of their ability and temperament to step it up at the biggest stage of all. That they have had world-class players throughout their history. That they have had captains who were adept in leading their side across generations, and winning the tournament across conditions.

As the 2023 ODI World Cup approaches, Australia, under new skipper Pat Cummins, are regaining momentum and will come to the Indian shores later this year as firm favorites again.

Match Report: World Cup No.5 secure |

When did Australia win the ODI World Cup?

Australia’s first ODI World Cup triumph came in 1987, under the captaincy of Allan Border, as Australia defeated arch-rivals England by only 12 runs in the final in Kolkata.

They waited for 12 years for their next World Cup, but the golden generation of Australian cricket made up more than for that wait by winning a historic Hat-trick of World Cups. Steve Waugh’s team defeated Pakistan in the 1999 final; Ricky Ponting took over from Waugh and delivered back-to-back title – defeating India in 2003 final and Sri Lanka in the 2007 final.

Australia failed to go past the quarter-finals against India in 2011, but the Kangaroos bounced back in style in 2015 at home, winning their fifth ODI World Cup, this time under the charismatic Michael Clarke’s captaincy.

In 2019, they lost to England in the semi-finals. They will look to add another ODI World Cup to their cabinet in 2023, which is all but certain to be the last ODI World Cup for the likes of Steve Smith, David Warner, and Mitchell Starc.

When will the 2023 World Cup start?

The tentative date for the start of the 2023 World Cup is 10th October, with the final likely to be played on 26 November 2023. Although this could be changed as the ICC have not yet finalized the dates of the start and final of the tournament.