10 Best Statements On Virat Kohli’s Resignation

Last updated:

Virat Kohli dropped a bombshell as he stepped down as captain of the Indian Test team on Saturday. Though, the signs were clear even before the team left for South Africa, but the world was left in shock as he stepped down as the captain of the men’s Test team.

Virat Kohli, who had replaced the legendary MS Dhoni as Test captain in early 2015, captained team India in a record-breaking 68 Tests. During his captaincy stint of 7 years, Kohli led the Indian cricket team to the number 1 position in the ICC rankings.

Virat Kohli steps down from his role as the captain of the India Test team  | The Independent

Having won 40 out of 68 Test matches, Virat Kohli is the most successful captain to have led the Indian cricket team in the red-ball format. Virat is also the fourth -most successful Test captain in the history of Test cricket. Apart from him, the captains who have won more Tests in international cricket are Steve Waugh (41 Test wins), Ricky Ponting (48 Test wins), and Graeme Smith (53 Test wins).

Kohli tweeted saying, “Everything has to come to a halt at some stage and for me as Test captain of India, it’s now. It’s been 7 years of hard work, toil and relentless perseverance every day to take the team in the right direction. I’ve done the job with absolute honesty and left nothing out there. Everything has to come to a halt at some stage and for me as Test Captain of India, it’s now.”

Virat Kohli’s resignation as the Test captain came out as a huge shocker to the cricket fraternity and the fans, given his legacy and contribution to the Test format. Social media has been buzzing with tributes and heartfelt posts ever since he announced the big decision. From cricketers, experts to fans, everyone is hailing the brilliance of Virat Kohli and are pouring their emotions out on social media.

Meanwhile, here, in this article, we bring you the 10 best tweets and posts on Virat Kohli’s resignation as Test captain. Here, have a look:

1. Rohit Sharma:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Rohit Sharma (@rohitsharma45)

2. Sachin Tendulkar:

3. Sir Viv Richards:

4. Mohammad Amir:

5. R Sridhar:

6. Lisa Sthalekar:

7. Saiyami Kher:

8. Alviro Petersen:

9. Dinesh Karthik:

10. VVS Laxman:

Also Read: Isa Guha Wrote A Heart-Winning Tweet For Virat Kohli