Angry Fans React After The Exclusion Of Yuzvendra Chahal From 1st T20I

Last updated:

Angry Fans React After The Exclusion Of Yuzvendra Chahal From 1st T20I: The new era of the Indian cricket team under head coach Rahul Dravid and with T20I skipper Rohit Sharma has officially begun with the T20I series against New Zealand. The Indian cricket team is currently locking its horns with New Zealand in the first T20I in Jaipur at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium.

In his first match as a full-time T20I captain, Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bowl first. However, team India’s playing XI has already stirred controversy as many Indian fans are not happy with the decision of team management to exclude Yuzvendra Chahal out of the playing XI in Jaipur.

India has handed the debut match to Venkatesh Iyer, who impressed one and all with his stunning performances in the recently concluded IPL 2021.  While Shreyas Iyer is back after missing the recent T20i World Cup. Apart from them, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, and Mohammed Siraj have also made it to the playing XI.

However, the absence of Yuzvendra Chahal from the playing xi has caught everyone’s attention. Chahal, who is the second-highest wicket-taker in the history of T20I cricket, was left out of the 2021 T20 World Cup squad. He was expected to make his comeback to the team in the ongoing series, however, he was reduced to watching the proceedings in Jaipur from the dugout, as team India decided to go ahead with spinners Axar Patel and R Ashwin.

Meanwhile, fans took to social media to express their disappointment with the exclusion of Yuzvendra Chahal from the playing XI of the Indian cricket team. Several people started trolling the new T20I skipper for his team selection. There were many who came up with hilarious memes and jokes while trolling the skipper.

Here, check out the reactions of Twitterati on this:


India: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, and Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand: Tim Southee (c), Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, and Trent Boult.