BCCI To Hold A Very Important Meeting On 1/1/2023

Last updated:

The Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) officials will hold a meeting on new year’s day January 1, Sunday, to review India’s “disastrous” campaign at the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, along with head coach Rahul Dravid, captain Rohit Sharma and National Cricket Academy chief VVS Laxman. This meeting will take place in Mumbai.

Even though India topped the Super 12 group stage, above Pakistan and South Africa, and reached the semi-finals – they failed to the reach the semis in the 2021 T20 WC in the UAE – the manner of the 10-wicket hammering from England in the semi-finals will have long-lasting effects, with its pain and disappointment among fans still lingering.

India also were without their two key men – Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah – due to injuries.

India Today reported that the BCCI members will conduct a performance review of Team India at the T20 World Cup 2022 and both the captain and coach – Sharma and Dravid – will be present alongside NCA head Laxman.

Rohit Sharma, Rahul Dravid wanted to change India's play style, says Former  England captain Nasser Hussain - India Today

This meeting could also be where the BCCI takes big decisions

Big decisions may include appointing Hardik Pandya as the new captain, and also Dravid’s tenure has come under scrutiny with India trying a spate of players in the months leading into the T20 WC.

The meeting comes just two days before India takes on Sri Lanka in the first game of the three-match T20I series at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Rohit Sharma is not part of this T20I series as he continues to recover from the thumb injury that he’d sustained in Bangladesh, but the opener will return for the following ODIs.

The BCCI seemed to have moved on from some of the players – Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Aswin, Shami – who played in the tournament. There are reports that the BCCI also won’t pick Sharma, Kohli, and KL Rahul in T20Is anymore and give Pandya the time and players to prepare for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

India’s squad for Sri Lanka T20Is: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.