CSA T20 League: Four players Paarl Royals Team Has Signed So Far

Last updated:

CSA T20 League: Four players Paarl Royals Team Has Signed So Far: England’s white-ball captain Jos Buttler will extend his association with the Rajasthan Royals’ owners as the keeper-opener has signed with the Paarl Royals for the upcoming and newly-launched T20 league by Cricket South Africa (CSA).

The tournament, whose inaugural edition will be played in January 2023, will comprise of 6 teams, all of whom have been bought by six different owners of the IPL franchises.

One of them is the owners of the Rajasthan Royals – Emerging Media (IPL) Ltd (owned by Manoj Badale has about 65% of Royals’ stakes; other owners in the Royals franchise are Blue Water Estate Ltd (Lachlan Murdoch). and RedBird Capital Partners.

Who are the players Paarl Royals have signed for CSA T20 league so far?

Along with Jos Buttler, Paarl Royals have roped in South African batter David Miller, West Indies seamer Obed McCoy and local Protea uncapped all-rounder Corbin Bosch. All four of these have been part of the Rajasthan Royals in the IPL.

According to tournament rules, a team can sign five players – a maximum of one capped South African, three overseas players and an uncapped South African player – ahead of the player auction which will be held in the coming weeks.

Jos Buttler
Image Source – ESPNcricinfo

Jos Buttler was the Orange Cape holder in the IPL 2022, scoring 863 runs at an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05; he hit four centuries and smashed 45 sixes helping the Royals till the final where they lost to Gujarat Titans.

David Miller was present in the Gujarat team and the left-hander had perhaps his best IPL season – scoring a total of 449 runs at a strike rate of 141. He was eighth in the list of leading run-getters this season, and second behind captain Hardik Pandya for the Titans. Miller spent the 2020 and 2021 seasons at RR before moving to GT.

McCoy snared 11 wickets from 7 matches in the IPL 2022. Recently, McCoyagainst India he registered the best T20I bowling figures by a West Indies, of 6 for 17, and is known for his variations in the death overs.

Who is the uncapped Corbin Bosch that Paaral Royals have signed?

Corbin Bosch joined the Rajasthan Royals this IPL as a replacement for injured pacer Nathan Nathan Coulter-Nile. But the Durban-born youngster didn’t get to play a single match this season.

Bosch plays for the Titans in South African domestic cricket. Bosch is a pace-bowling allrounder who bats in the lower-middle order. He has an experience of 30 T20 matches along with 24 first-class and 21 List-A games and has impressed with both bat and ball.

How many teams does the Royals franchise have?

Paarl Royals will be the third sister franchise of Rajasthan Royals – along with the Barbados Royals in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). They will be based out of Paarl, a city in the Western Cape province of South Africa, with the Boland Park cricket stadium as their home ground.

Before the Paaral Royals, the MI Cape Town and RPSG Durban franchises have revealed their list of first five picks.

CSA T20 League: Four players Paarl Royals Team Has Signed So Far
Image Source – The Print

The Durban franchise, owned by the RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group, which is the owner of the IPL team Lucknow Super Giants have signed Quinton de Kock, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley and uncapped Prenelan Subrayen for the CSA T20 League.

The MI Cape Town, owned by Mumbai Indinas’ Reliance Limited, were the first team to announce their players for the CSA T20 League: Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada and uncapped Dewald Brevis.

Also Read: CSA T20 League: Five players RPSG Durban Team Has Signed So Far