Deepak Hooda Created A Unique World Record In International Cricket

Last updated:

The Deepak Hooda winning juggernaut has continued in Zimbabwe and now the cricketer has created a new world record in international cricket: India are yet to lose a game in which Hooda has played and the 27-year-old has been involved in 17 consecutive wins, a new world record.

Deepak Hooda is now a world record holder of most consecutive wins since debut

Deepak Hooda made his ODI debut in February vs West Indies and T20I debut later that month vs Sri Lanka. He has so far featured overall in 17 international games – 8 ODIs and 9 T20Is – and India won all those matches.

The latest 3-0 ODI series white-wash over Zimbabwe meant that Hooda took his tally to 17 successive wins – having already broken the previous record held by Romania’s Satvik Nadigotla who won 15 consecutive games. South African star David Miller and Romania’s Shantanu Vashisht, too, had enjoyed a winning streak of 13 games since they made their international debuts.

Deepak Hooda
Image Source – NDTV Sports

Hooda has scored 141 runs in 6 ODIs innings, but it is the T20I format that he’s taken by storm: in 7 T20I innings, Hooda has plundered 274 runs at a strike rate of 161 and average of 54; earlier, he notched up a century vs Ireland. Hooda’s aggressive, intent-filled batting fits perfectly in India’s newly adopted aggressive brand of cricket.

He got his reward for his brilliant IPL 2022 and T20I show with a place in India’s 15-man main squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022, to start on Saturday in the UAE. Hood also offers a handy part-time spin option and has even taken wickets with that.

India’s first match in the Asia Cup 2022 is against Pakistan. However, Hooda is unlikely to be part of the eleven given both KL Rahul and Virat Kohli have returned to the side. Nonetheless, Hooda could get his opportunity in the Asia Cup later on and the Rohtak cricketer will be ready to pounce on his chances.

India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Standbys: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar

Also Read: Cheteshwar Pujara Revealed His Favorite Tests Innings