No Place For Rohit Sharma In Wasim Jaffer’s All-Time IPL XI

Last updated:

Former India opener Wasim Jaffer picked his all-time XI from the Indian Premier League following the final of the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League. The richest cricket league in the world has now completed 15 editions having started in 2008 and with the league going even bigger and better every year, it isn’t easy to pick an all-time XI but Jaffer has managed to pick an impressive all-time IPL XI.

Image Source – Hindustan Times

No Place For Rohit Sharma?

Jaffer made some surprising calls in his all-time xi as he didn’t pick Indian all-format captain Rohit Sharma, who is also one of the most successful captains in IPL history, having led Mumbai Indians to the IPL title five times. Besides Rohit Sharma, Jaffer also didn’t pick legendary South African batter AB de Villiers.

Image Source – The Indian Express

Wasim Jaffer Named MS Dhoni As The Captain Of His Team

Speaking to Crictracker, Jaffer named MS Dhoni as the captain of his all-time XI. For the opening position, Jaffer picked the Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle and Lucknow Super Kings (LSG) captain KL Rahul. Followed by them, he named CSK’s Chinna Thala, i.e, Suresh Raina for the number three position while Virat Kohli took the number four spot with Dhoni to follow at number five.

Followed by Dhoni is KKR’s explosive all-rounder Andre Russell alongwith IPL 2022 winning captain Hardik Pandya at number six and seven.

No Place For Rohit Sharma In Wasim Jaffer’s All-Time IPL XI
Image Source – Twitter

Bowling Unit:

Rashid Khan, who is hailed as the best T20 spinner in the world, also features in Jaffer’s all-time XI.  Jaffer also named either of the Rajasthan Royals’ duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal in his team. In the fast bowling department, former Indian openers picked Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga.

Wasim Jaffer’s all-time XI:

Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c and wk), Andre Russell, Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin/Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

Also Read: IND vs SA: Umran Malik’s Father Made An Emotional Statement After His Selection