Shahid Afridi Took A Hilarious Dig At Shaheen Afridi As He Got Ruled Out Of Asia Cup 2022

Last updated:

Legendary Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi took a dig at star pacer Shaheen Afridi, who was recently ruled out of the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup on Saturday. Shaheen Afridi, who played a vital role in the victory against Virat Kohli-led team India at the ICC World T20 last year, will not be leading the pace attack of the Pakistan cricket team this year in Asia Cup 2022.

Shaheen has been ruled out of the entire edition of the Asia Cup due to a knee injury. Afridi suffered a right knee ligament injury during the 1st Test against Sri Lanka last month and since then he didn’t take the field. The 22-year-old pacer is currently with the Pakistan team in the Netherlands as part of the rehabilitation program.

Shaheen Afridi
Image Source – Hindustan Times

Taking a hilarious dig at Shaheen ahead of the Asia Cup, former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi poked fun at the star pacer during a recent Question and Answer (Q&A) session on Twitter. During the fun interaction, a fan asked Afridi should come out of retirement after Shaheen was ruled out of the Asia Cup 2022. The fan wrote: “Lala, Shaheen is injured, so please come out of retirement,”

Responding to the tweet of the fan, Shahid Afridi took a hilarious dig at Shaheen. He replied: “Mene us ko pehle b mana Kia tha k dive mat maray, injury hosakti hai, ap fast bowler ho. Lekin bad me mene realise Kia k wo b Afridi hi hai”

Check out the Tweet:

Apart from Asia Cup 2022, the Pakistani pacer will also miss Pakistan’s home series against England in September. The star pacer has been advised a four to six-week rest by the medical advisory committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Pakistan cricket team will lock its horns against India in its Asia Cup 2022 opener on Sunday.

Pakistan squad for the Asia Cup: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir

India’s squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Also Read: Irfan Pathan Gave A Savage Reply To Waqar Younis Tweet Targeting Team India