Shubman Gill Breaks Virat Kohli’s 10-Year-Old Record In Deodhar Trophy

Last updated:

On Monday, Indian cricketer Shubman Gill created a History when he lead India C in the 47th Deodhar Trophy summit clash with India B. Shubman became he youngest captain to lead a side in the tournament’s final.

Shubman Gill broke the 10-year-record of the current Indian skipper Virat Kohli by doing so. Virat Kohli had led North Zone in the Deodhar Trophy final when he was only 21-years-old in the year 2009-2010. Whereas, Shubman Gill led the side when he is only 20 years and 57 days old.

However, it wasn’t a very good day for Gill as he was dismissed for just a run by Mohammad Siraj. Earlier in the match, India B chose to bat first after winning the toss. The team posted 283/7 after Kedar Jadhav and Yashasvi Jaiswal scored half-centuries. However, it was Ishan Porel who stole all the limelight when he picked up a 5 wicket haul.

On the other hand, India B struggled to get going and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. While Shubman was dismissed for just one run, his opening partner Priyam Garg scored a fighting fifty as India C crumbled under pressure.

Talking about Shubman Gill, he started the Deodhar Trophy on a positive note scoring a massive 143 against India A. His powerful knock with his partner Mayank Agarwal, who scored a century helped India C reach 366/3, eventually winning the contest by 232 runs.

Shubman Gill will be seen playing for the Indian national team against Bangladesh in Test series later this month.