Virat Kohli Posted An Emotional Tweet Saluting Heroes Of Kargil Vijay Diwas

Last updated:

Virat Kohli Posted An Emotional Tweet Saluting Heroes Of Kargil Vijay Diwas: 26 July 2022. India is celebrating the 23rd anniversary of the Kargil Vijay Diwas on Tuesday. On this day back in 1999, the Kargil War, which is now also known as the Kargil conflict, came to a conclusion after a battle of almost 60 days.

Indian soldiers successfully recaptured the mountain heights that had been seized by Pakistani intruders; it was indeed the Pakistani army that had crossed the Line of Control in May 1999.

Then by July 26, India had finally claimed what was theirs. And since, this day is commemorated as Kargil Vijay Diwas to remember the pride and courage of the Indian armed forces and pay tribute to the ones who lost their lives, over 500 brave soldiers sacrificed themselves while fighting for the country. The Kargil war was also the last time India and Pakistan engaged in a full-blown war.

Now, on Tuesday, tributes for the Indian Army and soldiers poured in from all corners, from people across streams.

Virat Kohli
Image Source – Twitter/@M_Raj03

Among cricketers, India captain Virat Kohli led the chariot to commemorate the Kargil Vijay Diwas.

Kohli, who is currently on a vacation in Paris with his family having taken a rest from the West Indies series, took to Twitter and wrote: “Salute the grit & valour of our armed forces who protected our nation and continue to do so everyday. Jai Hind.”

Here is the tweet of Virat Kohli:

Former India all-rounder Irfan Pathan wrote that “Our lives are indebted to our jawans. My tribute to all the brave hearts of our country.”

India wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant, who has flown to the West Indies for the 5 T20I series starting July 29, wrote a special tweet on the Kargil Vijay Diwas.

Pant tweeted: “I salute our armed forces for upholding the honour and integrity of our nation and my deepest respect to every soldier who are protecting our motherland.”

Here is Pant’s homage to the Army forces:

Others, including former India women’s team captain Mithali Raj, former batters VVS Laxman and Suresh Raina, Chennai Super Kings’ Robin Uthappa, and India’s 2011 World Cup winning team members Suresh Raina and Gautam Gambhir, who is also a Member of Honourable Parliament, paid their tributes on Twitter.

“Where it is difficult for us to even breathe, they won a WAR! Salute to the bravest of the brave! #KargilVijayDiwas,” read Gambhir’s tweet.

“My salute to all those who fought gallantly for our nation in Kargil. Their courage and sacrifice can never be forgotten. Remembering the bravehearts of Kargil on Kargil Vijay Diwas,” Raj, who recently retired from international cricket, wrote.