Virat Kohli to lead Cricket Australia’s ‘Test team of the year’

Last updated:

After International Cricket Council (ICC) announced their Test team of the year, Cricket Australia have also named their Test team of the year, and guess what, India’s skipper Virat Kohli has not only been picket but given the responsibility to lead the side. This is a very interesting decision because Australia’s Test skipper Steve Smith is also in the side.

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin, who is world’s number 1 bowler and all-rounder in Test cricket, has also been included in Cricket Australia’s Test team of the year. Pakistan’s Azhar Ali has been picked as an opener alongside England’s Joe Root. Australia’s Test captain and world’s number 1 batsman in Test cricket, Steve Smith, will bat at number 3 followed by Virat Kohli at 4. At number 5 and 6 are two Englishmen; Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow.

At number 7 and 8 are South Africa’s Quinton de Kock, who will also keep wickets and India’s all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin. Sri Lanka’s Ranagana Herath will be Ashwin’s spin partner. Australia’s speedster and South Africa’s new sensation Kagiso Rabada are the two fast bowlers.

Cricket Australia 2016 Test Team of the Year:  

Azhar Ali (Pakistan)

Joe Root (England)

Steve Smith (Australia)

Virat Kohli (India, captain)

Ben Stokes (England)

Jonny Bairstow (England)

Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wk)

Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)

Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)