Wasim Jaffer

Wasim Jaffer Makes A Shocking Pick For The Second Test

Last updated:

After registering an emphatic victory by innings and 132 runs in the opening match of the ongoing Border-Gavaskar Trophy series against Australia at VCA Stadium, Nagpur last week, all the focus has now shifted to the 2nd Test match.

It has to be noted that in order to book a spot in the World Test Championship (WTC) final at stake, the Rohit Sharma-led Indian cricket team needs to win two more Tests in the ongoing four-match series.

No place for KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav in Jaffer’s XI

Meanwhile, ahead of the 2nd Test match in Delhi,  former Indian batter Wasim Jaffer has named his starting lineup for the 2nd Test match between India and Australia. He has dropped vice-captain KL Rahul and middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav and has picked Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer, respectively.

KL Rahul Reveals The Story Behind His Test Captaincy Debut Against South Africa

Despite the poor performances off-lately, KL Rahul was picked for the 1st Test match against Australia, however, the star batter once again failed to repay the faith of team management, scoring 20 off 71 balls in India’s only innings.

Talking about the white-ball sensation Suryakumar Yadav, he failed to leave a mark with his performance. He was dismissed after playing a knock of 8 runs in Nagpur.

Jaffer picked Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma as the openers and senior players Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli at 3rd and 4th number respectively. He backed Shreyas Iyer for the middle-order spot after missing the series opener because of a back injury.

Kanpur:Indian Wicket Keeper KS Bharat during a practice session ahead of first cricket test match against . #Gallery - Social News XYZ

KS Bharat was selected as the designated wicketkeeper of Jaffer’s playing XI. R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, and Akshar Patel are the spin all-rounders in his playing XI, whereas Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj are the fast bowlers to complete the team.

Wasim Jaffer’s playing XI for the second Test against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Siraj.