World Cup 2015: India’s 30-man squad; no Yuvraj, Sehwag, Gambhir and Harbhajan

Last updated:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the preliminary 30-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 as required by the tournament regulations. The 30-man squad announced by BCCI has lots of young names. Many domestic performers have been included in the preliminary squad.

India are a very well balanced team and they will enter the 2015 World Cup as one of the favorites. India have a perfect blend of youth and experience.

The biggest question surrounding this announcement was will the selectors give one last chance to some of the heroes of 2015 World Cup. This list of 30 doesn’t feature the top 5 of 2011; Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan.

This has come as a big blow to the top 5, as all of them, other than Zaheer Khan, were hopeful of making it to the 30-man squad.

The selectors have shown immense faith in the youngsters and this list of 30 features quite a few young players who have been performing consistently at the domestic level.


India’s 30-man preliminary squad: MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Manish Pandey, Wriddhiman Saha, Sanju Samson, R Ashwin, Parvez Rasool, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami, Umesh Yadav, V Aaron. Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Ashoke Dinda, Kuldeep Yadav and Murali Vijay