As India came out to field for Australia’s second innings late in the third session on Day 2, Virat Kohli walked straight up to Nitin Menon who was walking to take his position as the square leg umpire.
Both had a long chat in the middle of the ground with Kohli walking alongside Menon and discussing. Fans in attendance at the Arun Jaitley stadium recorded a video of the same and made it viral on Twitter.
In the video uploaded by a Twitter user, @meme_ki_diwani, wearing his number 18 jersey, Virat Kohli can be seen talking to Menon, and they weren’t discussing about their dinner plans. But Virat Kohli must have been asking about the decision against him that Menon, and third umpire Richard Illingworth, gave earlier in the day.
Watch: Kohli goes head-on with Nitin Menon, talks over controversial decision
Kohli sahab gaaliya dene phuch gye aate hi menon ko pic.twitter.com/WIxaO2SEOB
— Shivani (@meme_ki_diwani) February 18, 2023
The dismissal has created a controversy with many fans thinking that Kohli was not out, or that Menon has had some issues with the former India captain.
Fans had a good laugh at this act from Kohli. Here are some reactions:
pair fansa ke gira do https://t.co/i5uBYEtczk
— g in her hyungsik simp era (@notsofuunnyy) February 18, 2023
Tu bhar mil teri…. https://t.co/y7xyxQ7y1Q
— ANUJ😎 (@IamAnuj17mhjn) February 18, 2023
Menon kidnapped and taken to gurgaon for after match party! He will come back soon shortly
— Dank Sportsman (@danksports101) February 18, 2023
Wasim Jaffer unhappy with umpires’ decision against Virat Kohli:
Former India batsman Wasim Jaffer feels the decision should not have gone against Virat Kohli as there was no clear evidence to suggest that the ball had hit the pad first. Jaffer reckons there was bat involved, and so did most, and that the benefit of doubt should have gone to the batsman.
The arm ball from Kuhnemann slid through and hit Kohli’s pad on his front-foot defence with his bat positioned closely sideby his front pad. Kohli went straight up for the review, and was seen suggesting that he thinks the ball was sliding down leg.
The third umpire had a difficult time deciding whether the ball hit the bat first, pad first, or both simultaneously. After a lot of replays, he decided to rule against Kohli and went for the Hawkeye, which showed the ball to be only clipping – only the outside part of the ball was brushing the outside of the leg-stump – but that was enough for Australia: the ‘Umpire’s Call’ was out and it stayed, and Kohli had to take the long walk back.
“That wasn’t out to me. Too much doubt in there,” Jaffer tweeted his opinion.
— Wasim Jaffer (@WasimJaffer14) February 18, 2023