Funny Memes On Indore Pitch From Day 1 Of IND vs AUS Test

IND VS AUS: It was proper carnage on the bunsen burner at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Day 1 o the 3rd Test between India and Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023.

Yes, India is known to produce spin-friendly wickets; yes, Test matches in recent years in India have ended inside three days, and games barely go into Day 5.

This, however, was a shocker, something which even the host batters found extremely challenging to contend with.


India were bowled out for 109 in 33.2 overs in their first innings in Indore

Mitchell Starc, returning after a finger injury, cause nerves for India in the first over: he could have had Rohit Sharma dismissed twice in the first over, but Australia didn’t take the review.

That didn’t hurt much as from the 6th over onward, when interim skipper Steve Smith introduced spinner Matthew Kuhnemann it was all crisis for India.

Matthew Kuhnemann struck in his first over with the wicket of Rohit Sharma, and in his second, dismissed Shubman Gill. From the other end, Nathan Lyon joined the party, getting rid of Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja before Kuhnemann dismissed Shreyas Iyer.

Todd Murphy picked only one wickets, but it was the biggest one – that of Virat Kohli, who was India’s top-scorer with 22 runs in the first innings.

Matthew Kuhnemann
Matthew Kuhnemann. Image-Getty

Kuhnemann and Lyon wrapped up the rest – Umesh Yadav did hit two sixes and a four giving the crowd something to cheer about – with the left-arm spinner taking his maiden Test five-fer in only his 2nd Test match.

Fans lashed out at the Indore pitch curators for dishing out this raging turner where even their own batters faltered miserably.

There were some hilarious tweets and memes on this performance from the Indian batters and the pitch.

Here are some of the funniest tweets:


Australia (Playing XI): Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith(c), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Matthew Kuhnemann

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Srikar Bharat(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj