Legendary Umpire Kumar Dharmasena Named His All-Time XI

Last updated:

Former Sri Lankan spinner, Kumar Dharmasena is one of the most loved umpires in the cricket world. Over the years, the legendary cricketer and umpire has impressed up with his tactics on-field, be it with his umpiring or his cricketing skills.

Kumar Dharmasena has now picked up his all-time XI and he has come up with the most balanced choice for the team. He has picked some of the best batsmen of the modern era, along with some bowling legends too.

To kick off the innings, Dharmasena picked two stunning openers — Matthew Hayden and Sanath Jayasuriya. Both the cricketers are known for their attacking batting styles and have featured in the world cup winning squad for their respective teams.

At number three is legendary Australian skipper Ricky Ponting. The legendary cricketer is hailed as one of the greatest skippers in the cricket world. He is the highest run-scorer in Tests for Australia.

Followed by Ricky Ponting, at number 4 comes the Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar. The Master Blaster is hailed as one of the greatest cricketers to have ever played the game. He is the highest scorer in Tests and ODIs, Tendulkar has 100 international hundreds in his career.

Dharmasena’s solid middle-order consisted of some legendary cricketers. West Indies’ legendary player Brian Lara comes at number 5, who is followed by Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara, who is arguably the best batsman the island nation has produced in history.

At no.7 comes all-rounding superstar Jaques Kallis and former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram comes at number 8. The playing XI has a perfect finishing with the likes of Muttaiah Muralidharan, Shane Warne, and Glenn McGrath filling the last three positions.

Here, check out Kumar Dharamsena’s XI: 

Top Order-

#1 Matthew Hayden

#2 Sanath Jayasuria

#3 Ricky Ponting (C)

Middle Order-

#4 Sachin Tendulkar

#5 Brian Lara

#6 Kumar Sangakkara (WK)

Lower order/Tailenders-

#7 Jacques Kallis

#8 Wasim Akram

#9 Muttiah Muralitharan

#10 Shane Warne

#11 Glenn McGrath