shreyas iyer

VIDEO: Shreyas Iyer Takes A Stunner At Short Leg To Dismiss Peter Handscomb

Last updated:

It was the combination of R Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer that gave India their first breakthrough, and a desperately needed one, of Day 2 in the form of Peter Handscomb.

Ashwin who had been wicketless in the game till then, as Ravindra Jadeja had taken Australia’s first 4 wickets, dismissed Handscomb, caught brilliantly by Shreyas Iyer at short leg, breaking the defiant partnership of 40 (134) between Handscomb and Green that was frustrating India.

India had barely looked like taking a wicket in the first hour of play on Day 2, and surprisingly, Rohit Sharma hadn’t bowled Ashwin at the start today. But the champion off-spinner delivered for his team in the time of need, and was aided superbly by Shreyas Iyer, who was alert at short leg.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer. Image-Getty

From around the wicket angle, Ashwin floated it up to Handscomb who lunged forward in defence. The ball dipped and turned little bit, taking the inside edge of Handscomb’s bat and flew rapidly toward Iyer.

The fielder was up on his toes quickly and took a stunning grab, showing his quick reflexes. There was great joy on the face of Shreyas Iyer as much as it was on R Ashwin and the Indore crowd.

Watch: Shreyas Iyer takes a terrific catch of Peter Handscomb

Meanwhile, India fought back with the ball in the second hour of Day 2, and this wicket from Ashwin started Australia’s collapse. Green and Handscomb, the overnight pair, kept the bowlers at bay for the first hour, before Ashwin and Umesh forced a collapse from 186/4 to 197 all-out, both the bowlers taking 3 wickets each.

Australia have taken a crucial lead of 88 runs, which is significant on a surface such as this one at the Holkar stadium.

India will have to bat out of their skins to take a lead that could win them this game. At the moment, it is the visitors who have a strong upper hand in the 3rd Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.


Australia (Playing XI): Usman Khawaja, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith(c), Peter Handscomb, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Matthew Kuhnemann

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Srikar Bharat(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj